Skip to content

Latest commit

 

History

History
47 lines (34 loc) · 1.77 KB

RoleDocs.md

File metadata and controls

47 lines (34 loc) · 1.77 KB

How User Roles are Updated

The hierarchy GUEST < USER < GROUPADMIN < ADMIN within groups semantically maps the Linux rights system.

OIDC USERS

  • Carrying user groups create a group if one doesn't already exist and add the user with the USER role to that group if they don't already have it.
  • It also removes the GUEST role if the user was manually assigned as GUEST.
  • Once the USER role has been added to a group, it cannot be manually removed.
  • If a user group no longer exists, the user will be removed as a USER and GROUPADMIN.
  • They can be manually re-added to this group as a GUEST.

NON-OIDC USERS

  • Non-OIDC users can be manually added as USER and then be promoted to GROUPADMIN.
  • If added as USER in a group, the GUEST role will be removed.
  • Only non-OIDC Users can be promoted to ADMIN.

GENERAL

  • Users can only be added as GUEST to a group if they do not have any other role in this group.

  • Users with role USER can be promoted to GROUPADMIN.

  • Only empty groups can be deleted.

  • (Soft) Deleting a user deletes all of their group roles.

           │                           
           │ Manual Manage             
      ┌────┴────┐                      
      │         │                      
      │         │                      
      ▼         ▼    Manual            
                    Promote            
    Guest      User ───────► Groupadmin
                                       
                 ▲                     
                 │                     
                 │ External            
                 │   Managed           
                 ▼                     
                                       
               Keycloak                
                 Roles